Permanent Premises of the International Criminal Court




The International Criminal Court (ICC) was founded in 2002 when the Rome Statute, which was adopted in 1998, came into force. Currently 105 countries have become parties to this International Treaty. The ICC is an independent and permanent court that prosecutes those accused of the most serious crimes of international concern: genocide, crimes against humanity and war crimes. The establishment of this Court is a milestone in the development of international justice.

The aim of this project is to construct permanent accommodation for the ICC on a prime site bordering the North Sea dunes and the city of The Hague and covering over 72,000 m². The ICC and the host State of The Netherlands share the conviction that the new ICC premises should provide suitable working conditions, functionality, security and ecological fit.

Within the premises, up to 1,200 workstations, courtrooms, and various ancillary facilities will have to be provided with a total gross floor space of up to 46,000 m². Furthermore, parking facilities as well as plans for two expansions of 150 workstations each are foreseen. The spatial and functional design should take into account the need for flexibility and scalability on the long term.

A worldwide architectural design competition will take place in order to select the best architect for this unique project for which this is a call for candidature. The competition is organised by the Chief Government Architect of The Netherlands. It is a restricted anonymous project competition that begins with an open application for candidature, followed by a pre-selection of up to 20 participants and a design competition.


The Hague, 06 November 2008

Jury chooses best design for new International Criminal Court building an international jury chaired by Chief Government Architect of The Netherlands, Liesbeth van der Pol, has selected three winners for the international architectural competition for the new International Criminal Court building in The Hague. In the months ahead, the International Criminal Court will consult with these three firms under equal terms, starting with the winner. The International Criminal Court plans to commission work at the start of 2009 from the architect who has the best design and fulfils all the other award criteria.

Prize winners

The winning architectural firms are:

1. Ingenhoven Architects, Düsseldorf, Germany
2. Schmidt Hammer Lassen / Bosch & Fjord, Århus, Denmark
3. Wiel Arets Architects & Associates, Maastricht, The Netherlands

The three winning designs were selected by the jury from 19 entries from all over the world on the basis of criteria as incorporation into the urban fabric and surrounding landscape, architecture, safety and sustainability.


Prize and exhibition

The winning firms will receive cash prizes of EUR 60,000, EUR 50,000 and EUR 40,000 respectively. In addition, all three of them stand a chance of their entry beingelected as the definite design for the new building. All 19 entries will be on display in the Atrium of The Hague City Hall from Wednesday 19 November to Tuesday 25 November.



This outcome brings us one step closer to the ultimate choice of architect for the new building on the over 72,000 m² large plot between the dunes and Van Alkemadelaan. In the months ahead, the International Criminal Court will consult with the three firms in question under equal terms, starting with the winner. It is expected the International Criminal Court will enter into a contract with the architect who has the best design and fulfils all the other award criteria at the start of 2009. It will be announced which architect is commissioned to realise the design in early 2009. The final design will be presented in 2010, after which construction can start in 2011. Work on the new building for the International Criminal Court is scheduled for completion in 2014.

On Tuesday 18 November, 2008 an exhibition presenting all 19 entries for the architectural competition will be opened in The Hague City Hall. The models of the three winning designs will also be revealed during this event. An invitation for members of thepress will be sent out shortly.